Tire Pressure with Cushcore

KnollyBro

E*POWAH Elite
Dec 3, 2020
Vancouver
I have been running a tubeless setup for a couple of years now and had varying degrees of success keeping my tires inflated to the pressure that feels right on the trails. The tires don't seem to lose air during a usual 3-4 hour ride but the next time I ride, they are noticeably softer. I am using Cushcore Pro inserts front and back on DT Swiss E511 rims. I recently bought a tire gauge and was surprised to find out what my preferred pressure was while using inserts compared to no inserts or tubes. I am also questioning if the gauge is reading properly when using inserts (Boyle's law) or do the inserts create a seal around the rim which might lead to different tire pressures that without inserts. Has anyone else found they used more or less air pressure after installing inserts?

Growmac

Subscriber
Dec 4, 2020
Wilts, UK
My Merida has a cushcore in the rear, my Rail and my analogue Enduro both have Rimpact (regular). I run Rimpact regular in the front of all my bikes.

I've settled on 20/22 F/R as my go-to pressures now, about 5 psi less than I used prior to inserts. Lots of grip, seems to roll well, and damps out the small stuff. I'm not a super aggressive rider, but I borrowed a Rimpact to try in the front of my Merida about 18 months ago and I really like how it quietens down the front of the bike. Not really sure how to describe it any better, but it removes the chatter and improves grip in corners, especially over roots.

KnollyBro

E*POWAH Elite
Dec 3, 2020
Vancouver
I have cushcore pros on the rear of 3 DH bikes now.
after install less pressure will feel the same (by hand squeeze test) as more air w/o the CC pros due to the reduction of volume and sidewall support. Riding hard in to berms and G-outs tho you can feel it still if you’re running less pressure.

So I consider cushcore as just rim protection and run the same pressures to match my riding.

enduro / nothing crazy dh22/25