Performance CX - delay when starting to pedal?

sigg

Jul 1, 2020
Poland
Hi,

I've recently moved from a bike with Bosch Performance to Bosch Performance CX motor. I noticed something that wasn't present in the "classic" Performance motor. When I start to pedal there is a very slight delay, where it feels like for just a moment you are pedalling without assistance and then the motor starts working and supporting you.

It's not making riding the bike any harder, as the pedal moves maybe an inch or less before the motor starts working, but I haven't noticed it on the classic Performance motor, where you didn't really feel the motor engaging at all. Seemed more natural, while with the CX you definitely feel the moment the motor starts.

Just wanted to ask if it is normal or some kind of defect.

Akiwi

🐸 Kermit Elite 🐸
Feb 6, 2019
Olching, Germany
Not sure, I haven't noticed it. on the other hand I have been riding the CX for 4 years and if there was a delay, I am used to it.

GrahamPaul

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Nov 6, 2019
Andalucía
Interestingly I think that it was this Forum's very own Rob Hancill in one of his YouTube videos who complained that the CX4 motor was like a basket of overeager puppies. I think he was complaining that there wasn't enough of a delay for his liking.

[Edit: No he didn't. It was the Yamaha motor!]

Last edited:

Mteam

E*POWAH Elite
Aug 3, 2020
gone
Hard to say as I havent ridden the other motor you're comparing to, I guess there is a very (very) slight delay that seems to vary depending on what gear you're in and what motor mode you're in.

Rob Rides EMTB

Administrator
Staff member
Subscriber
Jan 14, 2018
Surrey, UK
Interestingly I think that it was this Forum's very own Rob Hancill in one of his YouTube videos who complained that the CX4 motor was like a basket of overeager puppies. I think he was complaining that there wasn't enough of a delay for his liking.
That's the Yamaha PWX-2!

sigg

Jul 1, 2020
Poland