Pedalling e-bike when motor turned off

dps21

Aug 27, 2023
Scotland
Hi folks
I am quite new to e-biking. When the motor is 'assistance off' it feels like I am pedalling through glue - feels like massive resistance. Is this 'psychological' after the feeling with 'assistance on'. I have a new Specialized turbo levo so I thought there was a clutch that disengaged the motor when off - so why does this feel so 'heavy'?

Tim1023

Aug 25, 2020
Hamburg, Germany
OK, is that all it is? The difference feels massive
I agree. I've heard it from so many people, that I figured it "must" be true. Some say that it's also because one gets used to the motor support. But the difference is huge between my old Stumpjumper with MTB tryes and my Levo with commuting tyres. Also can't see the weight making that much difference as I'm already over 100kg, so the overall percentage weight difference isn't that great.

dps21

Aug 27, 2023
Scotland
I agree. I've heard it from so many people, that I figured it "must" be true. Some say that it's also because one gets used to the motor support. But the difference is huge between my old Stumpjumper with MTB tryes and my Levo with commuting tyres. Also can't see the weight making that much difference as I'm already over 100kg, so the overall percentage weight difference isn't that great.
Yes - I find it difficult to think it is just due to increased weight and tyre resistance. It feels really strange, and maybe it is just 'psychological' after the motor support, but it would good for someone 'in the know' to confirm that the motor definitely disengages when turned off and I'm not pedalling against the resistance of the drive motor - as this is what it feels like

TimC7

Ovine Assaulter
Apr 22, 2023
UK