Off topic got a lathe who wants stuff making?

Doomanic

🛠️Wrecker🛠️
Patreon
Founding Member
Jan 21, 2018
UK
What's the capacity of the lathe and what materials do you have experience with?

Doomanic

🛠️Wrecker🛠️
Patreon
Founding Member
Jan 21, 2018
UK
Have you got boring bars and grooving tools? What tolerances can you work to?

I'm not trying to pick holes, just deduce what I can realistically ask for.

Doomanic

🛠️Wrecker🛠️
Patreon
Founding Member
Jan 21, 2018
UK
I am giving him a chance;
I'm not trying to pick holes, just deduce what I can realistically ask for.
I have some small parts in mind that need to be made to fairly tight tolerances and they'd be a good little project for a budding machinist; not difficult, but fairly satisfying to make correctly.

RustyIron

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Subscriber
Jun 5, 2021
La Habra, California
8” by 16” steel brass and aluminium im not a pro or an expert but everyone’s gotta start somewhere :)

Good on ya, brother. The number of machinists I've met in my lifetime that I'd call "experts" can be counted on one hand. But if you ask them, most will tell you, "Nah, I'm still learning."

It's pretty unusual that I make bike parts. Here's a couple pics of recent projects that are still in my camera. The first is a plug kit that was too big to fit inside the handle of my OneUp EDC Pump. I turned down the cap, and now it's perfect. Coincidentally, I got to use it for the first time today when a buddy ran a stick through his tire. The second pic shows a volume spacer I cranked out when I was too impatient/lazy/cheap to order the factory part.

Show us some pictures of your next project, whether it's bike parts or not.

IMG_3649.jpeg

65447984038__A9254956-E926-4ACE-83BC-342100A4DD13.jpeg

Doomanic

🛠️Wrecker🛠️
Patreon
Founding Member
Jan 21, 2018
UK
Nice tools, now lets see what you'll be using them with. We need to see your lathe man, all the engineering geeks are frothing at the mouth with anticipation.

Doomanic