New EMTBer with some rear shock questions….

KingDingAling

Feb 10, 2023
Wiltshire, UK
Hi all,

I have transitioned from road to EMTB and I have a 2023 Trek Rail 9.5 and have no experience with modern full suspension bikes. I’m an engineer so I understand the theory and have a lot of options in regards to upgrading the rear shock but I just don’t have enough experience to choose between air or coil (I prefer the look of coil but that’s not everything, I know) Im mainly going to be riding trails so nothing mental so I’m looking for the right product for the job - I don’t want to chuck a load of money at the problem when a cheaper product will do the job.

I love a couple of miles from TF Tuned so my options are endless so once I know roughly what I need I’ll pay them a visit.

Thanks all
Danny

KnollyBro

E*POWAH Elite
Dec 3, 2020
Vancouver
Hi all,

I have transitioned from road to EMTB and I have a 2023 Trek Rail 9.5 and have no experience with modern full suspension bikes. I’m an engineer so I understand the theory and have a lot of options in regards to upgrading the rear shock but I just don’t have enough experience to choose between air or coil (I prefer the look of coil but that’s not everything, I know) Im mainly going to be riding trails so nothing mental so I’m looking for the right product for the job - I don’t want to chuck a load of money at the problem when a cheaper product will do the job.

I love a couple of miles from TF Tuned so my options are endless so once I know roughly what I need I’ll pay them a visit.

Thanks all
Danny
Do you have a particular reason why you don't like the shock that is on the bike? If you are going to upgrade a shock to something that is better than the one that is already on the bike, it will cost you over $500-1000+ so check out some youtube channels like this one to get a better understanding. BTW, bike are a money pit. You can't just change one component. Most rider start with the fork as it usually under spec'd.