My process and priorities for choosing my emtb. Yours?

More-read-than-ride

Patreon
Jan 3, 2019
Spain
I wrote the below post as an answer, but then I thought it might be an interesting talk to start.

I am an amateur rider, but a huge "gear-nerd", so I have read most articles in terms of reviews, specs, brands etc.

If it is of any use to you, here is my process in terms of prioirites. It is completely personal, not a pro:
1. Suspension quality and type as first priority - As a general rule, go FS not hardtail and relatively good components if you can afford it.
2. Type of bike (trail, allmountain, vs. enduro etc) - you can go for more travel than on a conventional bike, but dont exagerate. If in doubt go for 130-150mm FS trail bike as an allrounder.
3. Motor: For amateurs like me who climb a lot and that is their main goal for support, Bosch is a good fit. If you do more straights and trails, more people like Shimano, Yamaha and Brose because of lower drag and more natural power delivery. TQ is new.
3. Then consider your need for service (direct sale vs. dealer) - if you are a good mecanic and like it, there is money to be saved going direct like Canyon or Thok, but ebikes need service.
4. Finally brands and other components. Personal favorites include Cube TM and Action team models (Stable, great value and spec with Bosch), canyon (direct sale, great spec, agile) and of course the ever present Levo (Agile, Brose, too expensive for me though). There are many other great brands though...

As the always supportive @steve_sordy told me, most importantly try them and make sure they are set up for you. Setup and personal affinity makes a world of difference.
@Rob Hancill what is your take on the process?

Janluke

Patreon
Dec 16, 2018
Scotland
1. Reliability of the "E" components- I'll take a bombproof reliable system with less power and features over somethine higher tech but fragile
2. Support/Customer Service- from Bike brand, motor manufacturer and dealer