Minimizing pedal strikes?

Gary

Old Tartan Bollocks
Author
Subscriber
Mar 29, 2018
the internet
I have to unlearn keeping the outside crank fully down. Now I stay pretty level, heels down
this sounds like exactly the sort of advice you find dished out by a myriad of folk in online forums who like to regurgitate poor advice but can't actually ride for toffee themselves.

You should ideally be constantly adjusting crank position and altering ankle position.
not blindly trying to lower your heels or blindly trying to keep your cranks level the whole time.

Chill out, relax and "play" when on your bike and I guarantee you'll ride far smoother.

Binhill1

🍊 Tango Man 🍊
Mar 7, 2019
Scotland
Come now, the Scotchman speaks the truth, who can argue with A) looking where you are going, and B) having a plan for at least the next 10secs.
But I get it, sometimes instinct kicks in.
I am somewhat new to big travel fs, so I am constantly surprised how low my BB is. I have to unlearn keeping the outside crank fully down. Now I stay pretty level, heels down, unless I am sure I won't strike, even then I still screw it up.
Is there any evidence that pedal strikes knacker the motor? Any more than running into, say, a swiss quality light post? Asking for a friend...
I have it on good authority it could damage motor . Obviously depending on weight of rider etc. I have had a few strikes and thought mmmm not good . I'm a heavy lad ( on keto diet so watch this space ) . But as someone said we didn't have this pedal strike problem with real mtbs and I certainly didn't. But Ebike is a lot heavier than any bike i have ever had before so it will compress more. Also going faster at times than I would have before and doing stuff I didn't do. Far about in Switzerland ar yi , had so many holidays there skiing love it .

Swiss Roll

Jul 28, 2021
Switzerland