Hub motor vs Mid drive (efficiency)

michael.kozera

New Dad ! 👶
Feb 3, 2021
calgary
Hub motor vs Mid drive strictly from an efficiency stand point, ( how far can you go on a charge).

I own and ride both, and from my experience ive noticed that hub drive is about 30% more efficient over all when compared to mid drive assuming all else is the same. wind, grade, tires, weight, assist amount, etc, etc.

however, ive seen many posts and videos of people claiming that mid drive is both more powerful and more efficient. interestingly however, they never back their claims with any real scientific testing or real world examples. just abunch of butt-dynos and % screen readers, ( and we all know how accurate % read outs are on e-mtb's).

As an engineer, i have thought about this extensively. most hub motors have around a 9 to 1 reduction ratio, and the power goes straight into the wheel. while with mid drive you have around a 30 to 1 reduction ratio + the bikes drive train. so you should have significantly more power loss with a mid drive. however the mid drive can take advantage of the bikes gearing to give more wheel TQ, which would be better for steep stuff.......

so i plan on doing a very comprehensive test with two bikes , one mid, one hub drive and use identical tires, pressures, weight, power, rider, etc,etc. i want to do 100w, 250w, and 500w at various speeds, grades, and gears, no pedaling just a thumb throttle to take the rider completely out of the equation. a precision watt-meter, gps will give accurate results.

i suspect that on faster flatter roads the hub motor will be significantly more efficient, but on very hilly stuff the mid drive will be more efficient. the question is, by how much? and once normalized, on average, how much more efficient is one vs the other.

ill post my findings here shortly.

thoughts?

has this been done already?

Zimmerframe

MUPPET
Subscriber
Jun 12, 2019
Brittany, France