How future proof are E mountain bikes

cheekynuke

Apr 3, 2018
Buckinghamshire
I'm a total newbie to this forum and to E bikes. It's great to have this forum and it's been a great source of help to me as i think about taking the plunge and buying an E bike. So hello to you all and thank you for sharing your experiences, pictures and advice.

I was fortunate enough to have a test ride of a Trek Powerfly 7 and it left me smiling and even slightly bewildered by how much i enjoyed the experience. So much so i am now thinking of delaying my new road bike purchase and buying an e bike.

It seems that the Specialized Levo is a well liked bike and is now on my list of bikes to test ride. However i was wondering how future proof these bikes are.

If i brought a new road bike i could easily swap out components as technology progresses. The same i guess for most E bikes. But as E bikes are still relatively new tech i can foresee dramatic leaps in battery and motor technology.

What are your collective thoughts on the likelihood of simply replacing batteries or motors with new systems as they become available. Are they likely to be compatible with easy 'swap outs' with current machines ?

Doomanic

🛠️Wrecker🛠️
Patreon
Founding Member
Jan 21, 2018
UK
If there is a quantum leap forward in battery technology I would hope that the manufacturers would make it backwards compatible. It would make their support of older tech simpler by reducing inventory. Motors, I'm not so sure. Keeping the form factor the same for batteries is fairly simple as the goal is higher energy density so less size and weight and as long as the fixing points are the same thinner/lighter is no problem. Motors, on the other hand, are more closely integrated into the frame design so any major changes in motor packaging will result in redesign of the frame.

Taffyteg

Founding Member
Feb 13, 2018
United Kingdom