Hello from WA, USA

Desmopilot

Feb 25, 2024
USA
Hello everyone! Just registered for the forum and wanted to introduce myself. I've been riding MTB's for 35 years or so and just bought my 1st e bike. I started riding a Giant hardtail back in the day until I saved up enough to build a Diamondback V-link Pro ride. I hammered that for the longest time until I finally upgraded to a Trek Fuel EX8. That has been my dream bike until I started developing significant arthritis in both knees. I decided I could either go ahead with knee replacements or finally get the Santa Cruz Bullit I've been drooling over the past 3 years. When SC announced their factory sale in December I knew my decision had become easier.

So...I bought the Bullit! I'm sure my orthopedic guy is proud of me, lol. Actually, I work hard to keep my weight down and get lots of time on the treadmill. I hated that the pain was keeping me from riding and climbing like I used to be able to when I was in my 20's-30's. I'm 58 years old, about 6'1" and 185 lbs. I went with the XL frame as the large felt just a tad cramped. It's a big bike but I feel so comfortable in the cockpit. I've got about a half dozen rides on the Bullit and I absolutely love it. I set up the power profile to allow me to choose incremental steps in the Shimano torque output. I want to feel like I'm still working the bike, but can add power when the joints start complaining too much.

I've made minimal modifications so far, mostly rider interface stuff. ODI grips, Ergon saddle and some Shimano Saint pedals. I also have a couple Fox front fenders and have decided to roll with the XL version, especially with the winter mud.