GoPro Hero9 Editing Software

Blakey

Sep 9, 2020
Mid Sussex, UK
Hey all,

I'm running a GoPro Hero9 on my MTB. I'm just cruising the hills and forest trails of the southeast of England, so nothing fancy, and I'm no pro rider. I take footage most days I ride (which is most days) but 90% of the time I just bin it. I'm fine with that.

When I do hit something that I want to keep I'm struggling with decent video creation software. I've tried:

1. GoPro Quik
    Decent if used on the iPad. But my iPad is old and has very limited space. This is great if I want to create a 1-minute highlight of a lone downhill, but if I have an hour's footage I can't fit it onto the iPad so I can't use this software. It does have cool overlays like speedo and GPS overlay.
  2. Windows 10 Photos
    Free software! Semi-decent for what I'm after, but it lacks a certain level of flexibility. Examples: I can't easily get rid of the background noise (no one wants to hear me blowing snot out of my nose or grunting when I land one of my 3" jumps). I can't slow down one part of a bit of film whilst keeping the rest full speed. No extras like GoPro's cool speedo and GPS overlays.

I have heard That Davinci Resolve is sweet. A quick google and it looks awesome. It's also £250. I was more looking for something which is either free (I appreciate this won't awesome) or at least more in the <£50 sort of range.

Any suggestions? Or should I just accept that Photos is pretty decent for the price (free) and be done with it?

Cheers!
Blakey

Mikerb

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
May 16, 2019
Weymouth
no....that is an ancient version. Current version is 17 and it is no longer called Sony Vegas. It is now called Movie Studio ( by Magix). Best option is Movie Studio Platinum ( dont bother with the suite version). I am using V15...I did not see any benefit in upgrading to 16 or 17!.