eMTB curious...

MattyB

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Jul 11, 2018
Herts, UK
Newcomer to this forum, currently ride a 120mm full suss non-ebike and a gravel bike, but after trying my Dads Trek Powerfly HT recently can see an ebike in my medium term future. Will probably wait until there are more lightweight options similar to the newly announced eZesty from Lapierre though...

Cooldaddygroove

Jul 11, 2018
Vancouver, BC
I've been riding MTB's for 30 years, and currently on my second eMTB. I think at this stage you will be waiting forever because the technology is changing so quickly, it's difficult to know "when to jump in". I say just jump in. You'll never look back....

smokey_jo

Patreon
Jun 28, 2018
Uk
I'm a recent convert and have a 120mm non-powered MTB and gravel bike too.
I'm not finding my 160mm travel Vitus any less agile on the downhills.
I'm more of a wheels on the ground type of rider but I do like to go quickly on the downs.

Cooldaddygroove

Jul 11, 2018
Vancouver, BC
I was in the camp of "I need to find someone who makes a light eMTB", in the end, its makes little difference. I can see weight being a factor if you are doing mile high jumps and such. The only time you notice the weight is when you have to lift the damn thing over the side of your pickup truck and hook it on the tailgate.

MattyB

Jul 11, 2018
Herts, UK
I've been riding MTB's for 30 years, and currently on my second eMTB. I think at this stage you will be waiting forever because the technology is changing so quickly, it's difficult to know "when to jump in". I say just jump in. You'll never look back....