eBike part durability

Mikerb

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
May 16, 2019
Weymouth
Keep in mind there is a big difference between sprung and unsprung weight.......stationary weight and rotating weight. Its not just about absolute weight.

Tetsugaku

Founding Member
Mar 4, 2018
Brighton uk
Keep in mind there is a big difference between sprung and unsprung weight.......stationary weight and rotating weight. Its not just about absolute weight.

Newbie here :D

Or actually, no, not a newbie, as I ride all the time - let's say I'm less of a hobbyist than most others here.

RoJo

Apr 24, 2019
Surrey
I edited my post to add some suggestions that will save you money and make your bike more suitable but will cut and paste it here as you may have missed it.

If you do stick with this bike though you can run a much more suitable. hard wearing and economical (but in many ways superior) drivetrain. Go with 10 speed Shimano. A tough all steel SLX HG81 11-36 cassette is £28, KMC 10 speed chains can be bought for £10 or so. A Zee rear mech (one of the best all round mechs ever) is £40 and a Zee rear shifter (ditto) is £17. Buy the generic N/W 7075 34t rings from eBay for under £10.

If you work on these prices for your parts consumed plus say £60 for the tyre and sets of pads (Superstar pads are fine) then your running costs are about £1 per commuting day - not bad and you're getting fit too!
Agree. I'm running 10 speed Zee on mine. Cheaper, more robust, better shifting, and I don't need the dinner plate cog anyway.

Gary

Old Tartan Bollocks
Author
Subscriber
Mar 29, 2018
the internet
The cost of those parts are higher than the service costs for a modest car!
er...
If cost is a worry for you fit shimano 10 speed components.
cassettes are about £20, chains about a tenner and decent NW chainrings five quid.
it's MOAR durable than 11 or 12 speed too

12 speed Eagle X01 is x10 that price. but it's the cutting edge of mtb drivtrain componentry