Do I need a new rims?

Sander23

Aug 28, 2020
Belgium
So since my last 2 ride on my haibike my back wheel made a real cracking noise so I tried to lube everything and have the thru-axle some grease but none worked.so I took apart the freewheel and saw this
z4zj1snl.jpg

I have no clue what to do. Do I change my hub? Or do I buy a new rim.? On many site I read that most of the times buying a new rims is cheaper?

steve_sordy

Wedding Crasher
Nov 5, 2018
Lincolnshire, UK
That looks like you have lost a load of balls from your bearing. Changing the rim will not fix that, it is a separate part of the wheel. I don't know whether you can replace the balls, or whether it is a warranty job. If the answer to both is a negative, then at the very least it's a new bearing, maybe a new hub. But I am no expert on it. If you aren't either, take it to your LBS and let them sort it out.

Levo-Lon

Jan 21, 2020
Uk
Replace the knackered bearing.
Or get the LBS to do it , bearings are cheap enough but you do need certain tools to do it properly

DOMBUSH

Aug 10, 2020
Cambridge
That would definitely create the noise you experienced. There are 2 common bearing designs and from the photo i cant see which you have:-
  1. Free (replaceable) ball bearings in a hardened hub housing - this is not so common these days although Shimano still use these.
  2. A deep groove cartridge bearing (with one of the seals missing). These are most common and are easily replaceable if you have the tools / know-how.
The key question is.... where have the missing balls gone? Normally it takes a hell of a bang to break a ball bearing / damage the race that it rotates within. Has the hub been apart before? Is there evidence of pieces of the missing / damaged balls floating around in the free hub? Did they fall out when you disassembled it? Pieces of ball bearings are very hard and tend to damage surrounding parts irreparably when they float around.