Arthritic Knees.

phlodge

Jul 2, 2019
UK
I have arthritis in both knees and have had one knee replaced, the flex on this replaced knee is just enough to get me over the top on a pedal stroke.
However, I do need to place my foot more central on the pedal as opposed to being on the front of the foot.
Though not ideal, I have been doing it this way for over 4 years and got used to it.
As my knee joint warms up I can get my foot nearer to where it should be, but only by a few millimetres.
I also do some knee bending exercises to encourage more flex.
Anyway, just wondered if anyone had similar experience with replacement knee's and how best to improve pedalling dynamics and efficiencies.
Thanks

Mikerb

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
May 16, 2019
Weymouth
.....well some good news for you..........placing your foot more central on the pedal rather than using the balls of your feet is far better for an MTB/EMTB. Better grip, better control and better enables flexible movement on the bike. Balls of the feet pedalling is more applicable to roadies.

phlodge

Jul 2, 2019
UK
.....well some good news for you..........placing your foot more central on the pedal rather than using the balls of your feet is far better for an MTB/EMTB. Better grip, better control and better enables flexible movement on the bike. Balls of the feet pedalling is more applicable to roadies.
Thanks for the reply, I am used to it after 4 years or so. Just wondered if there was something I should be considering as an option - shorter cranks !!, certainly more flex exercise.
One negative is that the foot sticking out further does clobber the occasional rock.

phlodge

Jul 2, 2019
UK
@phlodge Many on here fit shorter cranks to avoid hitting rocks; no hint of it being for knee problems.
What length are your cranks?
165mm. Just looking for shorter cranks, seems that 155mm is the shortest. so only 10mm difference.
I fitted 155mm Hope cranks to my outgoing Levo which was 175mm and that did make a difference.