YT Decoy 29 - Tyres

Irfan1712

Apr 15, 2020
RCT, South Wales
Hi guys

second time I’ve had a puncture on my base 29 on the rear, this time denting my rim. I’m running the standard Minion DHR II 2.4 that came with the bike. I don’t rate it.

Looking at a new tyre for the rear, and il now purchase a cushcore.

do any of you guys have any recommendations for an all-round tyre. I’m around 90kg kitted up.. I generally enjoy trails the most, although I might do boring fire roads for some fitness and attack local DH tracks like today (I’m no expert lol) which is where I had the Split in the tyre. I also enjoy a good climb. If I went for a proper downhill rates tyre would the drag on trails and fire roads really be that horrendous?

I’m also looking at sizing up perhaps, to say a 2.6. The front is still a 2.4 but I’d also size that up to a 2.5 or 2.6 once it’s dead.

so.. with the whirlwind of tyre choices, id appreciate your tyre and size recommendations!
Cheers

jk-

Jan 26, 2020
Around
What psi are u running, looks like its low. I weigh around 90-95kg depending on gear. I run around 25psi-30psi. That's on the normal Decoy

rb.

Apr 27, 2020
San Jose, usa
You getting flats is most attributed to the tire casing (exo comes stock). I’d recommend getting DH casing tires. I’m impartial to Maxxis and like DHF front and rear, but there are plenty of options out there that will limit you risk of flatting. Also if your running tubes, you need to ditch those ASAP.

Irfan1712

Apr 15, 2020
RCT, South Wales
i forgot about this thread - i did indeed change the rear for an Eddy Current in 2.6. The front minion is still doing fine but when that's ready to change il get an Eddy up front too.

much prefer the Eddy. i ran it at 25psi first off and a tyre burp on my local DH track gave me another flat and another lovely dent in the rim, so this time i've upped to 30psi.