Work Stand?

FOG

Oct 5, 2018
Sheffield UK
Just invested in an ebike and will be doing a little fettling- first job , make wheels tubeless- but am worried about my workstand. It is fairly substantial but the clamp jaws are plastic. Anybody found problems with their old stands and are there any recommendations for a really tough version?

All Mountain Coaching

E*POWAH Elite
Oct 3, 2018
GB
The park tool stand is in the black Friday deal at CRC. Can't fault that. There are ones about half that price from Aldi etc but I've no experience of those and if they're up to the job for an ebike.

D

Deleted member 1275

Plenty of similar threads here about stands and eMTBs. I use one of the cheaper ones (a bike hut stand from hell frauds). Not bad for £40 to be honest but I do wrap my top tube with thick pipe insulation foam before clamping as the clamp looks like it wouldn't be overly kind to paintwork.
My bike (including battery) weighs about 26.5 KG and this cheap stand seems to cope without complaint.

The one AMC mentioned above might be this one. It doesnt appear to be in stock at the moment but I would probably have gone for that (at the discounted price) as opposed to the one I bought.

Last edited by a moderator:

MattyB

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Jul 11, 2018
Herts, UK
Some of them differ in quality and usability a bit, but I don't think I've seen a workstand yet that wouldn't take an ebike from the perspective of weight. They are all significantly over-engineered for std bikes, so it will be fine - just use some foam or similar in the jaws or around the tubes as suggested and you will be fine.

Last edited:

Mad Mark

E*POWAH Elite
Patreon
Nov 2, 2018
Burton on Trent
I've got a fairly cheap one and it works great, I just put it on the cross bar and don't worry about the paint work, I crash to much to worry about the paint ...?
IMG_0391.JPG

All Mountain Coaching

E*POWAH Elite
Oct 3, 2018
GB