Upgrade wheels, what would I notice?

RebornRider

May 31, 2019
NorCal USA
I've always been a DIY'er, so I have a lot of experience with wanting to do some upgrade only because it would be a fun project. I recently bought a truing stand and spoke tension meter to tend to the Roval wheels that came with my Turbo Levo. Spoke tension is now well within recommendations (it wasn't) , the rims are centered and round (they weren't), and not wobbling side to side (the rear was). However, my regular 21 mile ride with 2000 feet of up and down as well as a few rocks, small drops, and washboard did not feel any different.

That brings me to my question:

I want to build a set of wheels with well-respected hubs, spokes, and rims. I'll not name names to limit distracting "mine's better!" tangents. Assume I will select your favorite components. These wheels should be stronger and have quicker freehub engagement than what I'm riding today. What differences should I look for when I ride them? What does a stronger wheel feel like? Maybe a better question is if one has to ride at an enduro competitive level (I'm barely into "intermediate" trail riding) to notice things such as stronger wheels or quicker freehub engagement.

R120

Subscriber
Apr 13, 2018
Surrey
Well I would kinda of throw the question back at you and say what are you looking for? How you build up a wheel set and what components you use will have different results.

Lighter wheels will accelerate better, and have a lower unsprung mass which should improve suspension performance, but may not be as tough as a heavier wheel set - a stiffer wheel set may make he bike handle better and be more direct with less deflection, but go to stiff and you might not like the ride quality and end up getting more punctures, loosing some trail compliance - then again you could go for a super burly wheel set that places strength over weight. Of course rim width and tyre combo plays a big part in handling.