Tyre Tape to Seal Permeable Tubeless Tyre

GrahamPaul

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Nov 6, 2019
Andalucía
Tubeless isn't always as straightforward as it ought to be. Especially when you (by that I mean "I") do something stupid.

I've been running tubeless for a few years now on my normal bike and the first thing I did when the Focus arrived a couple of years ago was to upgrade to tubeless. The joke around here is that tyre TPI refers to "Thorns Per Inch", so tubeless is essential.

However, I hit a snag with the Focus: the wheels have eccentric spokes so that the spoke holes are all up on one shoulder of the rim and not in the centre valley. This makes seating the bead difficult because of the little "dents" that occur in the rim tape under pressure in the rather large and oval spoke holes. With brand new rim tape and a nice clean new tyre it's easy enough to pop the bead onto the rim with plenty of washing up liquid as lube.

However, when it's time to change that tyre, the spoke hole dents make it impossible to pop the bead on, no matter how big the airshot can or CO2 cannister. So I always seat the tyre with an inner tube, leaving the spoke hole side seated to remove the tube and pop the other bead on. A bit of a pain (literally) breaking Schwalbe beads away from the rim, but it doesn't take too long and it isn't something I needed to do every week.

I left the bike out in the sunshine to dry after a wash a week or two back. Came back to find a flat front tyre. Now I'd been having a bit of trouble with the valve seating in the rim (so I thought), so I popped the non-spoke hole bead and changed the valve. Popped the tyre back on the rim but couldn't get the tyre to stay up for long. There's a tiny hole in the rim which was blowing hard. So the leak was the rim tape.