Rail (625Wh) Trek Rail Size Question

new_rider

Jul 25, 2022
Dillon, CO
Hello all,

I recently got my Trek Rail 7 in a size Medium. I am 5 ft 6 inches (167 cm) and my inseam is 29 inches (74cm). The Trek size guide recommends a size M.

I am new to MTB so I am not exactly sure what a good fit is supposed to feel like. I am able to straddle the bike flat footed but my balls have to go to one side (TMI I know but it may be an important detail?)

I do feel the reach is a bit far but I am not sure if this is normal. What problems should I look for to indicate the bike is too big?

Thanks in advance.

Stihldog

Handheld Power Tool
Subscriber
Jun 10, 2020
Coquitlam, BC
Hello all,

I recently got my Trek Rail 7 in a size Medium. I am 5 ft 6 inches (167 cm) and my inseam is 29 inches (74cm). The Trek size guide recommends a size M.

I am new to MTB so I am not exactly sure what a good fit is supposed to feel like. I am able to straddle the bike flat footed but my balls have to go to one side (TMI I know but it may be an important detail?)

I do feel the reach is a bit far but I am not sure if this is normal. What problems should I look for to indicate the bike is too big?

Thanks in advance.
Oh boy…you might be one of those in-between sizes. Regardless of what size you finally choose, you are able to make slight changes to the bike geometry to suit your body shape and riding style. For example;

I could have went with a medium or large Rail. I’m 5’9” but my arm span is like an orangutan (6’3”) and my inseam is 32”. I’m just a messed-up-geometry-nightmare. I eventually purchased the Medium Rail 9.7 but needed to change the reach, seat distance and hight, stem length and hight. Other changes such as bar width and dropper length were part of my upgrades also. Tire size might be important to you also. (27.5” or 29”). I personally like the 29”.