Scott Strike order holder questions

D_Ch

Aug 22, 2021
Malaga
Hi,
i've been riding a 26" epic for years in the steep mountains around where i live; now a couple of friends got ebikes (a Levo and an Orbea Wild) and pushed me to give it a go.
My LBS (where both got theirs) offered me as a 'reasonable' option a Strike 930 expected for mid august; it's still hard for me as it is for many to swallow the price tag, but at least this one would be on the more affordable end of good ebikes.
While i wait (order already got moved to end of september), there are a few questions from a total newbie, in case the order gets pushed back further:
- The Strike and the Genius, in same spec, are almost the same price; i can only see a little more travel for the Genius and slightly more upright position on the Strike. But really, is there much of a difference?
- It does seem like Scott emtb are not popular; is there a reason for it? They seem good and the price i got is quite nice for how things go with emtb.
- Are Cube and the like actually a better value?
- I was told i will in the end get a 2022 model, but from Scott's webpage i see same specs and only different color options (my original order was a blue one, now changed to black). Are they really only changing colors for 2022?
I doubt i could find a much better deal, but since i have to wait, might as well keep checking options; the order i have is for the Strike 930, pedals of my choice, tubeless and upgraded to a Kiox for €4400.
Thanks for the opinions and info!

Voluptua

Oct 4, 2020
United Kingdom
I don't think there's much of a difference between the Genius and the Strike. As you've noted, one has a little more suspension travel, and the other a mildly more upright handlebar arrangement. The Genius 930 fork has mudguard/fender mounts on the back of the tubes. I think the 2022 models are listing a slight brake upgrade over the previous year. I think they're fine bikes, and I don't know why they're not more popular.