Running lights from Bosch gen 4 power port...

Hardtail

Mar 8, 2021
Uk
Hi legends,

I currently run front and rear lights from the standard light outputs of the Bosch gen 4 motor, supernova m99 headlight.

It bugs me when it cuts off the motor assist at 10% battery just to keep the lights on due to regulations etc.

Has anyone ran there lights directly from the 12v accessories power port or why it would be a bad idea, obviously keeping the watts in the appropriate range...?

Where can one buy the 12v power port cable for wiring?

Cheers,

Reactions: Vas

Hardtail

Mar 8, 2021
Uk
Hey Mate,
How did you go with it?
I agree PITA not being able to use the last 10% if using lights.
I have been running it from the AUX power port for 4 months now, the same on my wifes bike. But with some issue!
I run a Lupine C 14 rear light and a Supernova m99 mini pro 25 front light. I don’t have the numbers in front of my but I was sure that their combined amp was less than the max allowed for the AUX port… Unfortunately when running lights on and the M99 on high beam the power cuts out after a few minutes… So it must be overloading the circuit… Running on lowbeam with tail light is fine, or high beam without tail light is fine.
I don’t have any faith in my LBS who enabled the AUX port settings as they kept changing other settings and enabling the wrong thing… for instance they still have the regular light function enabled even though they told me they turned it off… And they returned the bike saying that they updated to the new firmware with higher torque although I told them not to because I already had it updated, all they did was change the settings and replaced Emtb mode with Sport… Anyway.

I simply wired the headlight and rear light together before splicing them into the AUX port connector, maybe there is a better way of doing that, adding a resistor?

I haven’t been out late enough on the bike for it to be a issue at the moment but need to get it sorted.