Polini Motor: Mechanical design and Reliability

Spiff

Feb 27, 2019
Earth
There is a new ebike motor Polini E-P3+MX, which is manufactured in Italy and has good characteristics, and what is best, this motor has preventive maintenance and is repairable:

Polini E-P3+ Motor

Regarding the specifications, it offers high power and torque and also large batteries

• 600W Maximum Power
  • 90 N-m Torque
  • Has a grease port for preventive maintenance
  • Manufacturer sells spare parts for repairing.

There are a couple of Youtube videos that show the motor internals and also the manufacturing plant:

But after watching the videos, I can see that the internal mechanical design is simpler and different to Bosch and Shimano motors, and as I am not an expert, I´d like to hear the opinions from the mechanical experts:

• Polini Motor has a small motor gear that engages directly to a large gear wheel, this is used to reduce the high motor RPM to the lower rider cadence. But in Shimano and Bosch motors, this RPM reduction is done using several stages of gear cogs, which is more complex but I suspects it should have also some benefit.
  • Polini motor has "Straight" cogs while Shimano and Bosch use "Helicoidal" cogs
  • Polini Motor has a clutch to engage and disengage motor to cranks, this is made by means of a ratchet with three pawls (same has real wheel freehub), while Shimano has two clutches of type Sprage Roller which has many rollers inside, and Bosch has a similar design.
  • Polini motor does not use bearings for the Bottom Bracket, they use bushings, and they say that this provides a better sealing, although the friction and wear should be higher than in bearings. Shimano and Bosch use bearings
I am attaching a few captures from a Polini video and also a Shimano motor:

Polini 01.jpg

Polini 02.jpg

Polini 03.jpg

Shimano motor for comparison.
Shimano Motor Facebook 19.jpg

Last edited:

Zimmerframe

MUPPET
Subscriber
Jun 12, 2019
Brittany, France