Ordered a CHEEB Clone - Review

duncan12

I have been riding a CHEEB clone for about 2000 miles now and thought I'd post a review for those that may be thinking of going the same route. I bravely purchased my bike pre-build from Aliexpress. Buy Products Online from China Wholesalers at Aliexpress.com It took about 3 months to show. After shipping the total cost was about $3,200. It has most of what you'd expect from a CHEEB:
  • Dengfu Carbon Fiber Frame
  • Bafang 500W motor
  • 29" Wheels
  • a big battery (672Wh)
First, the bad stuff. Lots has gone wrong. Some of it is typical stuff when you get a bike. Some of it is not. Here's a partial list:
  • Chain seized at 150 miles - replaced
  • Rear chain ring broke at 200 miles - replaced
  • Headset was improperly installed - rebuilt
  • Charger melted and stopped working. SCARY. - bought new one
  • Dropper post keeps coming loose - have to rebuild repeatedly
  • Not tubeless as advertised - extra weight.
  • Fork was not RockShox as advertised - OK.
  • The tires were the cheapest Maxxis and wore out quickly - Replaced
  • The speed sensor did not work properly - fiddled for a month until it worked
  • Bike is severely under-braked - Will eventually replace
  • Battery doesn't have great life, get's me about 22 miles - will eventually replace
My CHEEB has spent a lot of time in the shop. I've spent about $500 repairing and replacing all this stuff. So I'm in it for about $3700. So the question now, was it worth the trouble, and is it now worth the money?