Is the e13 crank issue now fixed?

neilo

Jan 25, 2022
Australia
Which points to the fact that the first domino, is the pre-load end cap coming off. Then the splined interface and pinch bolts, seem to fail at their respective tasks, which causes the crank arm to walk off.

I'm also not a mechanical engineer, but given the forces and leverage involved I suspect the opposite is true. The walking of the crank arm under load is either deforming or unwinding the end-cap as a symptom, not a cause. Once the pinch bolts are tightened, you should be able to remove the pre-load cap and keep riding with no ill effect. The same is not true for the pinch bolts - if you removed those the end-cap would be destroyed in a few pedal strokes.

The Rise upper suspension pivot arm is another (not so good, as it also suffers from walking off) example of this design concept - the pre-load cap is temporary and is designed to be removed once the pinch bolts are tight.

Singletrackmind

Sep 17, 2020
San Diego, CA
Is this an issue effecting other brands of emtbs or primarily an Orbea issue? Have these cranks on my YT Decoy with absolutely no issues. Used locktight and torqued to revised method on an E8000 motor.

hind-corners

Subscriber
Jul 11, 2022
Europe
I swapped to 160mm XT cranks as well today. What I noticed when I removed e13 cranks was that left side endcap was lot thighter than 4nm. Only reason I can think of is that crank has started slowly move off from the original place and pushing towards endcap. No hairline cracks in spindle and everything looks fine otherwise

mike_kelly

Subscriber
Aug 11, 2022
US
My observations when I removed my E13 and installed XT is that the endcaps are longer from E13 and I wonder if the longer endcap is causing a stress riser on the axle. I replaced the E13 stuff immediately when I first got the bike. I once had a crank come off a pedal bike during a small rise on a trail at speed. No amount of risk is worth having that happen again.

Shjay