Hi there!

steve_sordy

Wedding Crasher
Nov 5, 2018
Lincolnshire, UK
Rob recommended that I introduce myself. Thanks for the welcome Rob. :)

I've been reading this forum for a month or so now as part of my search and selection of my first eBike. The threads have been very helpful. I've been riding mtbs for over ten years now, but three years ago I started with knee problems and despite doing all sorts of stuff I struggle with steep hills. I sold my YT Capra last month because I wasn't riding it where it needed to be ridden. I'm hanging on to my Whyte T130C RS for now, although my grandson has his eye on it. :)

What have I ridden so far? Last year I rode a Haibike (dunno which one). Last month I rode a couple of CUBE Stereo Hybrid 160 bikes (Team and the SL) , and a Moustache Samedi Trail 7, each for a couple of hours. Last weekend, I went to a demo day and rode a Focus Jam2 6.7 Plus, a Giant Trance E+1 Pro, and a Speccy Turbo Levo FSR comp carbon.

On my newbie post, I'm not going to give any criticism of any bike I have just mentioned above. But I loved the Focus, it was the only eBike I've ridden where I was just enjoying the ride instead of thinking about "e" stuff, like what mode was I in and so forth; it just felt like a really good bike. I will be shortly taking the Focus Jam2 6.8 Plus and also the 6.8 Nine for a longer test ride on the 14 mile off-piste trail that I know the best. That should enable a good comparison before making a choice.

While I was packing up after the demo day I spoke to another rider who was with one of the bikes that I wasn't too keen on. He was euphoric about the same bike! He identified the same faults that I had done, but he didn't care as he just loved the way it rode. Bikes, don't you just love them! :D

MattyB

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Jul 11, 2018
Herts, UK
Welcome Steve! I thought you might find your way over here eventually. Good to have you on board!