Hi! I’m new to the works of ebikes

blair99

Aug 28, 2021
Canada
Good day I’m new to the world of ebikes. I’m interested in buying my first bike I’ve been watching too YouTube videos and stumbled across your guys channel. And the bikes you guys review are the style I’d like. Mountain bikes! The only thing I don’t like about the reviews they don’t say what the top speed is. So decided to join the forum and learn more. I live in Canada and would like to buy a mountain e-bike with a higher top speed

steve_sordy

Wedding Crasher
Nov 5, 2018
Lincolnshire, UK
Emtbs are unlimited in their top speed. It is the control system that sets the speed at which the motor assistance cuts out. Sorry to be pedantic. The speed at which the assistance cuts out varies by region. It is a regional decision based on other laws in that region. In the EU it is 25kph (about 15.5mph) and the UK adopted that when wee were in the EU and have kept it because it ties in with the other laws we have. The USA is 20mph I think, not sure. Canada may be the same as USA, again unsure. Australia and NZ have 20mph I think. I would love 20mph, just about right for me.