Heat shrink the bird's nest

All Mountain Coaching

E*POWAH Elite
Oct 3, 2018
GB
Most of the cables are coming off next week as brakes, shifter, dropper replaced. Cables shortened too, so what better time to complete the look with heat shrink. Looks way better than cable ties or zip clips.

I've never done it before. Just wondered if anyone else has? If they could offer advice on what to buy how how best to do it. Lbs seemed hesitant...I think only because they've not done it before.

All Mountain Coaching

E*POWAH Elite
Oct 3, 2018
GB
This not only looks way better but no cable rattle. Interested to hear what you guys think.
p4pb13413039.jpeg

All Mountain Coaching

E*POWAH Elite
Oct 3, 2018
GB
Yeah I guess you just cut it off of that's the case. It's not often you need to replace an outer. I've never had to in all time biking.

Seen those aye. Think I prefer the electrical tape over those.

R120

Subscriber
Apr 13, 2018
Surrey
If you go down the heat shrink route, good idea to pull a favour off someone who has done it before. Its not to hard to do if you follow a you tube guide or similar, but it takes practice to get it done cleanly

All Mountain Coaching

E*POWAH Elite
Oct 3, 2018
GB
If you go down the heat shrink route, good idea to pull a favour off someone who has done it before. Its not to hard to do if you follow a you tube guide or similar, but it takes practice to get it done cleanly
Good idea. Guess that's why the shop were like 'meh'. Problem being the bike will be in the shop so it's not like I can get people over for beer think I'll watch them videos this weekend. What kinda shops sell the stuff do you know?

Gary

Old Tartan Bollocks
Author
Subscriber
Mar 29, 2018
the internet
I've never had to in all time biking.
honestly?
Do you just not hang onto bikes for very long or hardly ever ride in winter/wet conditions?