Haibike HardSeven/Nine Carbon 8.0 for €2.600?

docmark

Jun 20, 2018
Tromsø
Hi people,

Looking for some input on my first emtb. I am not experienced at all, so I thought about doing a Haibike hardtail for starters and maybe sell it and buy a full later when I grow bolder. However, I am wondering if maybe I should just go all in from the start, what are your thoughts? I am primarily going to use it to get around the city, but I also want to be able to have fun on the trails when I'm off work as well. I live very close to some amazing mountains, for your consideration.

Also, PWx or CX?

One last thought, I've got a deal on a new Hardseven/nine Carbon 8.0 for €2.600. Is that an offer I can refuse?

sstevens057

Jun 8, 2018
Birmingham
I had the same thoughts when buying my 1st bike. I went to an ebike shop open day, rode the bike I thought I wanted, and didn't like it. Then tried the full sus version and loved it.

Rear suspension gives extra grip around corners as the bike can press into the berm. Set up correctly, the bike will handle much better.

If you can afford it, I would go full sus. But test ride some different bikes, motors, hardtail, full sus, etc.

You can always get deals on bikes, last year's stock etc.

docmark

Jun 20, 2018
Tromsø
Thanks! I'll have to evaluate my economy and test some bikes. The full suspension ones are about €1500 more expensive than the Carbon 8.0 in my area, so it's a big step up.

Blackbird

May 23, 2018
Netherlands
If you want a full suspension in the future i would go for it now, you will only lose money trying to sell a secondhand bike later. For me 90% of riding is commuting or biking around town, to me that is where a hardtail really shines.
I run a second set of wheels with Schwalbe G-One Speed tires in 29x2.35 so it is really very comfortable.

I've ridden full sus bikes on pavement in the past and to me it never felt right, just not that planted feel that a hardtail gives me. Ofcourse your experience may be different.