Levo Gen 3 Fitting Hope Tech 4 V4 brakes on Turbo Levo

Stoneilove

Jan 27, 2023
England
Hiya, i hope some one can help me with a query i have.
I wish to upgrade my current Sram Code brakes that came stock with my 2022 Turbo Levo comp but a little concerned with the amount of work required to change the rear brake, my local cycle shop who have done lots of my upgrades have said its a real tricky job and the motor/battery would need to be dropped out, they have said its 4+ hours work so will cost almost as much to fit as one of the brake calipers them self, is this correct and have any of you also had this issue?

Many thanks for any help any of you can offer.

RM.SGO

Apr 25, 2020
Danville, CA
4 hours seems quite excessive. I recently swapped a set out myself and think it likely took 3 hours with a full bleed and I’m a shade tree bike mechanic working in my garage. 4 hours (or less) and your can do a full disc and pad job on a full size car!

trx

Dec 5, 2022
Milan
That’s ahem, bullshit. I have a Levo 2022 and straight when new changed the original brakes with Hope tech 4 V4. It’s a super simple job if you know how to work with Hope brakes, I didn’t even had to attach to the original hose as the internal guides work like a charm.
Take out the old hose, disconnect the top olive from the Hope and push it in from the bottom, inside the chainstay. On top of the top tube you can unscrew the battery screen and fish out the hose, then bleed it

Stoneilove

Jan 27, 2023
England
4 hours seems quite excessive. I recently swapped a set out myself and think it likely took 3 hours with a full bleed and I’m a shade tree bike mechanic working in my garage. 4 hours (or less) and your can do a full disc and pad job on a full size car!
I was thinking that myself tbh, i think i might just take it somewhere else to get done, many thanks for your help.

Stoneilove

Jan 27, 2023
England