E-trike advice if possible.

Adwb

Dec 2, 2022
Bristol England
I am looking at a tricycle with either 250 watt mid or hub drive, both Bafang.
The retailer says the hub drive is better for hills as it is cadence controlled and the lack of strain on the chain drive.

I have a lot of 12 degree or even greater both short and long climbs in my area, and need to be able to ascend these with out having to get off and push.

Both options have the Shimano 7 speed Gear hub and a fairly useless 6mph maximum thumb throttle.

I am less concerned with uphill speed and more with the amount of effort required to be honest. The hub version is on the front wheel and both versions have a differential.

There is little difference in price between the two types but both have the very basic Bafang C961 display which seems very limiting in the ability to alter parameters, although It might be possible to replace it with a better one?

Thoughts any one on this ?

Last edited:

Pyr0

E*POWAH Master
Sep 22, 2019
Wirral, UK
I don't have much to add except a friend of mine purchased a Jorvik tricycle for his mum and a trailer for her dog.
It came with a 250W bafang m500.
The trike is quite heavy and my friend wishes he had specced it with the m600 motor instead for hill climbs.

Adwb

Dec 2, 2022
Bristol England
I don't have much to add except a friend of mine purchased a Jorvik tricycle for his mum and a trailer for her dog.
It came with a 250W bafang m500.
The trike is quite heavy and my friend wishes he had specced it with the m600 motor instead for hill climbs.
Thanks, they would not have sold him a non street legal unless he bought on line and , now at least, declared it for private land use only!
just realised that is the mid drive version.

Barbara_Reed

Oct 18, 2020
FR
I am looking at a tricycle with either 250 watt mid or hub drive, both Bafang.
The retailer says the hub drive is better for hills as it is cadence controlled and the lack of strain on the chain drive.