Review Bikefinder GPS tracker VS Knog Scout

macinthekitchen

Jun 28, 2020
Ringwood
Product Image:
bikefinder 1.jpg

Knog-Scout-alarm-tracker-05-9a4b37f.jpeg

Product name: Bikefinder GPS tracker VS Knog Scout
Price paid: £35 for the Bikefinder (Ebay) £43 for the Kong Scout (Amazon)
Score (out of 10): 7 for the bikefinder, 8 for the Knog Scout (but.. horses for courses)

Review: I've seen a few threads on these two, but I thought I'd add my experience. I'm new to EMTBs but have been told by multiple locals that e-bike theft is rampant where I live, and although my bike is insured, I'd rather not have to claim as it just puts premiums up the following year. My two use cases are :
1) Coffe Shop Stop. Will the device alert me if someone is trying to rob the bike while I'm grabbing (one of the frequent) coffees I stop for. I use a Litelok Silverlock, which is reasonable against most things but not much good against an angle grinder, so the win here is if the device can alert me in enough time to get to the bike if someone is having a go a the lock with an angle grinder. I reckon that's about 2 minutes to be safe
2) It's been robbed; where is it? I only leave my bike fully unattended when it's locked in my garage and out of the house. I'm not intending on, for example, locking it at the train station and heading off for the day. The win here is if the device can give me a good location lock so I, and some big mates, can go and get it.

I also use Tractive GPS trackers on my dogs, and they're great. But I don't think they work well for use case 1 (they offer a geo alarm, so if it moves out of a defined area, it’ll let you know, but the area is quite extensive, so by the time you get that alarm the bike will have gone) and aren't easy to hide for use case 2.