• How to use this section. To the thread starter: Once you are satisfied with the answer that youve been given, click the Trophy on the left hand side of the message. This will rate this answer as the 'Best Answer' and will change the question status from 'Unanswerd' to 'Answered'. All members can also upvote an answer with the 'Up' arrow, this will help identify the best answer.

Bike Fit Recommendations

brw0513

May 18, 2019
Brisbane, Australia
Hi All.

I'm getting better at this eMTB caper. And it seems "a bit better" translates to much more confidence and a whole lot more fun on the trails.

And I want to improve some more to justify my next eMTB purchase :) But at 188cm tall, I'm on the cusp for most bikes between the L and XL frame size.

My current bike is a 2018 Merida e160 900e in size L. Reach is 460mm; stack is 644mm. I'm 120kg (but losing weight) and about as flexible as a broom stick. And 54 years old.

When I started riding my local trails on the e160, I was spending $99 of my $100 brain just staying upright. Lots of bashing into and over things. Even things I could have steered around. No finesse at all and not a care in the world about bike fit. The bike/suspension was very tolerant and the E8000 just a tractor up the climbs.

But for the past 6 months or so, I've been wondering if the e160 Large is truly a good fit for my body. When I watch others who seem to float over challenges on the trails, they seem to be much more "in" their bike. I thought I could look more like that if I found an e160 in XL, and began looking.

It turns out that finding a 2018/2019 e160 in an XL frame size, here in Australia at least, is going to be very difficult. Maybe impossible.