Beginner to off-roading: Hardtail or Full-sus?

Riotsloth

Sep 16, 2018
Haywards Heath
Hi all

I'm a newb here, so hello! I live near Eastbourne and the last time I rode MTBs was in the 80s and early 90s... so front forks weren't worth bothering with, let alone full-sus. However, I took out a Haibike Hardseven 7.0 over the Downs last week for a full day and totally fell back in love with mountain-biking. I badly want an E-Bike now!

What I am pondering over is whether to get full-sus or a hard-tail. My GF had a full-sus Haibike and loved it, but I felt perfectly happy on a hardtail. As you may gather, we are not exactly going nuts. I'm in my mid forties now, and a lifetime of riding bikes and motorcycles means my ankles and knees aren't perfect. Still happy to bomb down runs to the best of my ability, just that ability is somewhat less than at 20! So, spec-envy aside, bikes in the £1700-£2500 range would be more than sufficient for my needs I suspect.

Has anyone else had this dilemma? It doesn't help that the 2018 Haibike sduro fullseven LT 4.0 can now be had for about £2200, which is actually less than any equivalent Haibike hardtail I can find! (Except the 1.0)

The Voodoo Zobop full-sus in Halfords (yeah, I know) looks pretty great for £2700 (less the 10% discount) too.

Any opinions people?

Thanks!

R.

gelfy666

Aug 17, 2018
Telford
I like hardtails but am having the same dilemma at the moment.... I really like the look of the Haibike fatsix HT
Haibike-Xduro-Fatsix-9.0-2019-Electric-Bike.jpg

MattyB

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Jul 11, 2018
Herts, UK
I would say go with a full suss. You may not feel you need it right now, but it will help reduce fatigue and mean less impacts for your ankles, knees and lower back to absorb. Remember ebikes tend to get ridden more often and further per ride than an analog bike. These factors will become even more important as you get older, so investing a bit more in the full suss now is probably worth it in the long run.