Advice for noob - Please

DeclanM2

Feb 16, 2020
Australia
Hi all,

I'm looking at purchasing my first eMTB. I've been wanting one for a while now and recently rented a Focus Sam2 6.9 in Rotorua and did about a 35km ride on the trails there. Now I really want to buy one.

The focus was a great bike and besides the rock hard seat, I had no complaints at all. It seems logical to me to purchase a Focus bike, however I'm a novice and don't really want to waste money buying too much bike. In the same token, I don't want to cheap out and then feel the need to upgrade shortly into ownership.

I expect my riding will predominately be intermediate trails at a relatively slow pace. I'm not about doing jumps etc. more casual riding though I enjoy the technical side of trails.

I've been looking at either the Jam or Sam range and have found the options a bit overwhelming.

The biggest difference seems to be the Shimano vs Bosch motors, noting if I went Bosch it would be the newer CX. I found the Shimano to be really good and I like the idea of Focus's split battery. I used the TEC and about 25% of the internal battery on my ride but was using boost a fair bit.

My questions are:
- Should I worry about Bosch Vs Shimano or are they that similar that it doesn't matter anymore / for my application
- Should I spend the extra money for a Sam over a Jam or is there no real point for novices
- Is there any concerns with the lower specced suspension, brakes and gears on some of the Jam / Sam models or again is it likely I wouldn't even notice
- Are there other bikes that I should be considering instead of the Focus range?

Thank you so much in advance for any assistance or suggestions you can provide.

R120

Subscriber
Apr 13, 2018
Surrey
The Jam in all its versions is a good bike. Personally in your situation, and sticking within the Focus line up of bikes, I would look at the Focus's with the Bosch system in them.