Acros Lower Headset Bearing

Piku808

Jun 27, 2022
Norfolk UK
Hi, I’m new to this emtb-ing.
I bought my secondhand decoy a few weeks ago, been out a few times and my new shred is awesome.
I’ve noticed I keep getting a creaky noise from the headset area so thought I’d investigate. The upper bearings are smooth and not dirty, the lower ones. Well they’re totally shot which I’m gutted about,

I’ve ordered a new bearing set but my issue is how the hell do I get the bearing cage out as the lock block is in the way.
Any advice would be really handy cheers

07E52782-D530-4025-9B84-0C73BE30CF7B.jpeg

541DA43D-504A-48EA-8586-57885EB56AC8.jpeg

FC9BD458-6A41-4218-9FFB-C01424B96804.jpeg

skinipenem

Apr 9, 2022
skinipenem
Hi, I’m new to this emtb-ing.
I bought my secondhand decoy a few weeks ago, been out a few times and my new shred is awesome.
I’ve noticed I keep getting a creaky noise from the headset area so thought I’d investigate. The upper bearings are smooth and not dirty, the lower ones. Well they’re totally shot which I’m gutted about,

I’ve ordered a new bearing set but my issue is how the hell do I get the bearing cage out as the lock block is in the way.
Any advice would be really handy cheers

View attachment 91030

View attachment 91031

View attachment 91032
Subscribed. Wondered the same thing yesterday when I did a regrease.

Chrysaor

Apr 12, 2021
Switzerland
Hi,

it has already been raised in a previous post, but basically the Acros headset is not made to have its bearing replaceable: you need to change the whole headset as the bearings are pressed in inside the cups. It is a real bummer, I have changed my headset for a Works components and I will never buy Acros anymore it is insane to change the whole stuff while most of the brands allow you to repack or replace just the bearings...

From Acros website:

Q: I would like to replace a bearing in my ACROS headset, but i have trouble removing it from the bearing shell. What can I do?