20200717_142421.jpg

20200822_093011.jpg

Manufacturer: Haibike
Model: Xduro AllMtn 5.0 Flyon
Model Year: 2020
Price Paid: 5299
New/Used: Brand New
Score (out of 10): 6

Review: This is my first review but after searching and not finding many long term or thorough reviews I thought I would write my own. I have also been able to get my hands on a few ebikes recently so thought I would be able to offer some good insight into how I have found them. To start with, its worth probably mentioning a bit about me. I started riding again two years ago at the age of 33. I decided to give up playing football and thought Mountain Biking would be a safer and less injury prone sport. I might have been wrong with that thinking!

Anyway, onto the bike. I purchased the Haibike Allmtn 5.0 in June 2020. Covid lockdown made me get out a lot more and being constantly overtaken on the climbs by ebikes made me want one. I love the downs and find the ups a necessary evil. When ebikes can do twice the number of runs as a non ebike, it was an obvious decision.

When choosing the bike it was on my shortlist with two others. The Haibike Allmtn 3.5 and The YT Decoy. I dismissed the Decoy purely on the basis of it using the old Shimano Steps E8000 motor and the lack of a UK based warranty and service centre. I felt the E8000 motor was older tech and would likely be replaced (which it now has been by the EP8) and that it slightly lacked behind the other brands in terms of power. Since then, YT have opened The Mill in Guildford. If this was there in June 2020 I think I would have gone with the Decoy based on the components and value for money it offered. I have since had a chance to test ride the Decoy and will be doing a review on one shortly.