Zwift. What do I need?

Rob Rides EMTB

Administrator
Staff member
Subscriber
Jan 14, 2018
Surrey, UK
So I'd like to get into Zwift and training at home for after school times in the evenings when I cant get out (kids and stuff!).

I am thinking of a Wahoo Kickr Core.

I'm a total noob at this, does it work with a regular MTB? Would I benefit from getting a el cheapo road bike? Obvs wont be using the Eeb on in!

Gary

Old Tartan Bollocks
Author
Subscriber
Mar 29, 2018
the internet
:eek: Noooooooo..... Not another good guy lost to Zwift ;)

Almost all turbos will work with a regular mtb and slick/turbo tyres (thru axles can be an issue though). The main reason to use a road bike is position/gearing but it's not essential and probably not worth getting one unless you're quite serious about your training/Zwift racing.
Many friends have/had Zwift set-ups so I can ask their recommendations on turbos for you.
Other than maybe the dongle you'll no doubt have everything electronic required already

Gary

Old Tartan Bollocks
Author
Subscriber
Mar 29, 2018
the internet
EMTB Zwifiting - now that would be interesting
97JTiu.gif

;)

Jojo10

Sep 27, 2018
Germany
Hello Rob

I started with Zwift this winter.
I bought the cheapest trainer possible for Zwift (Elite Qubo Digital Smart B+), works great.
You can use it with all wheel sizes. There is also a MTB training tire and a thru axles adapter. So MTB on the trainer should work. You need a bike with powermeter for calibration process. After that, its precise enough and good to go.
But you have to think about, which hardware you want to use.
I tried an old Windows PC, doesn't work, too low performance. Than I bought an AppleTV, horrible usability, but it works. I think best would be an IPAD with an additional big screen.