XC rider looking to electrify a DH mountain bike

Liquidbarrel

Jan 9, 2019
Australia
Hi guys, I have been riding an XC mountain bike for 12 months but have recently purchased an old downhill bike which I think/hope is suitable for conversion to an ebike.
I am not really sure what I am doing but plan to have fun researching, building then riding the outcome.
Would appreciate any advice on motor and battery selection for my DH ride. I bought a 2002 banshee scream freeride because it’s built tough, has large triangle for battery and has good brakes & suspension. I am not so mechanically inclined so not really sure where to start. I am not looking for speed but need power to get my 100kg plus bike up some steep inclines. Also would be good to get 50km ride distance out of battery. My initial research points toward a mid drive bbshd Bafang. But is there anything else out there (maybe cheaper) ? Or is a hub drive an option. Note: I am based in Australia but can import most gear pretty easily.
Any suggestions appreciated.
BED3EA31-6738-4EF1-9BE2-C7A157128F11.png

R120

Subscriber
Apr 13, 2018
Surrey
not that many self builders on the forum. @Mabman is (I think!) our most experienced self building member, so he may be able to help

Gary

Old Tartan Bollocks
Author
Subscriber
Mar 29, 2018
the internet
Being brutally honest. You're wasting your time and would be throwing money at a dud.