Total newbie starting tomorrow

hiro

Jan 7, 2019
South Yorkshire
Hi all, never had an EMTB before, never even been mountain biking before, but at the age of 55 I'm getting my first one tomorrow.
Gave up motorcycling 4 yrs ago after a a nasty crunch which has left my arms and knees a bit below par and I've been sucked into the idea of this after one of Rob's videos came up on my Youtube recommendations and ended up totally addicted. Went from "No way would I spend more than £200 on a bike" to "£2300 you say, that seems very reasonable" after some try-outs.
Ended up going for a Haibike Fullseven LT 4.0 which arrives tomorrow, can't wait to get out on it, though unfortunately it may be a short one as I twisted my back yesterday and can't bend too well.

Looking forward to learning how to ride properly and learning from all the very knowledgeable folks on here (y)

alexis

Founding Member
Jan 26, 2018
Cyprus
Welcome to the forum and to the "Oldies Club" - I'm 59 and I am expecting my first e-bike (Trek Powerfly FS7 Plus) to arrive in the next 2 weeks here in Cyprus - Just like you, I can't wait!

Couchy

Nov 15, 2018
Nottingham
Welcome, I started my emtb adventure at 50 after riding and racing motorbike a lot of my life, gotta admit on a fast downhill the buzz is as good as a motorbike in a race track. Take your time and build up slowly they are great fun ?

hiro

Jan 7, 2019
South Yorkshire
Thanks guys, and I will start slowly. As I’m pretty much on the border of Lincolnshire anywhere within pedalling range is pretty flat so I’ll be having plenty of practice on rough but level farm tracks and bridleways before going near a slope.
I love Cyprus Alexis, be a great place to get out on an ebike!

Right, I’m dosed up with paracetamol and rubbed in nurofen gel and can stand up straight now, just hope it arrives before dark.

hiro

Jan 7, 2019
South Yorkshire