To E, or not to E. That is the question.

Optimusmiles

Feb 8, 2020
Dorset UK
Hello guys and girls. My name is Miles and I live in Dorset, UK.
I have not yet purchased my emtb and was hoping for some real world advice.
(I hope this is the right section since i am a newbie)
My question is about real world range. I currently have a trail bike and tend to go out for all day rides in the Purbecks. I like to take a bag with all my food, drink etc with me and normally do about 40 miles.
My worry is that on an emtb I will do this kind of ride in half the time and then be out of gas and unable continue for the rest of the day, or at least a few hours more.
I'm looking at the cube stereo hybrib with the 625 WH battery. I'm pretty confident I will be able to stay in eco mode all of the time which is a bonus.
So I reckon I will need the bike to do around 50-60 miles. Is this totally unrealistic or is that kind of range possible? Thanks in advance for any advice offered

Jamy

Sep 24, 2019
rotherham
I purchased the Cube SL 625 in November last year. I use the bike every day for commuting to work. 40 miles per week. The battery is on 5% by the end of week 2. I ride eco all the time. the surface i'm riding are roads and my weight is 95kg. the range may be slightly better once the temperature warms up.
I also ride at the weekend mainly offroad. I did a 31 mile trip and the battery went from 100% to 57% as soon as the weather picks up I going to extend the ride to Chesterfield making the round trip 55miles off road. I think the bike will do it easily

Binhill1

🍊 Tango Man 🍊
Mar 7, 2019
Scotland
My question is about real world range. I currently have a trail bike and tend to go out for all day rides in the Purbecks. I like to take a bag with all my food, drink etc with me and normally do about 40 miles.
My worry is that on an emtb I will do this kind of ride in half the time and then be out of gas and unable continue for the rest of the day, or at least a few hours more.