STEREO HYBRID 140 HPC 2021 - Groupset downgrade from SL to TM?

backstep

Sep 11, 2020
Valencia, Spain

More-read-than-ride

Patreon
Jan 3, 2019
Spain
I am no expert, but it could be a way to offset the impact of the price hike from the suspension. I think generally on an ebike the groupset is less important than the suspension because a large part of grouset cost is about weight. Or maybe it is conditioned by the wheelset and magura brakes, Cube seem to always have the MT7 and SRAM combo on the TM (Edit: not on the 2019 model, they were running XT). Anyway, I think the TM is the choice if you do tougher trails and long descents based on the suspension.
So basically, i am not much help, but like voicing my opinion :cool:.

Last edited:

ggx

Dec 10, 2018
Sintra
I am no expert, but it could be a way to offset the impact of the price hike from the suspension. I think generally on an ebike the groupset is less important than the suspension because a large part of grouset cost is about weight. Or maybe it is conditioned by the wheelset and magura brakes, Cube seem to always have the MT7 and SRAM combo on the TM (Edit: not on the 2019 model, they were running XT). Anyway, I think the TM is the choice if you do tougher trails and long descents based on the suspension.
So basically, i am not much help, but like voicing my opinion :cool:.
I agree. You get better suspention set. NX works fine, aldo Shimano XT could be smother. MAgura7 vs XT, also dificult choice, but both are going to work fine.

GMLS

Jun 22, 2020
Surrey
With weight less of a consideration with an EMTB, hoping the steel chainring and cassette will last a decent amount of time but crucially relatively cheap to replace

ggx

Dec 10, 2018
Sintra