Solo riders word of caution

nickw1965

Patreon
Sep 26, 2018
Aldershot,Hampshire
It’s been a while since I posted on the forum as members may remember I had a right hip replacement on April 10th this year.Following on from other members advice and my physio’s I didn’t get back in the saddle until 20th May, riding my local common each morning at 7am.
Felt like a new man with no aches and pains anymore after my morning ride.On Friday 24th woke up to a lovely sunny morning so headed out at 7 over Caesars camp my local ride.I have been riding these trails for 30 years.After a quick run through the woods I did my first drop into a large valley bowl.My last memory was hitting the back brake then all went black.I opened my eyes to find myself half way down the bank with bike on my legs.After my head cleared I went to stand only to find my right leg hanging to the side,snapped right femur.
As my situation sunk in my breathing worsened.4 broken ribs and collapsed lung.
I looked around my bike and couldn’t see my phone so searched around.My lifesaver was it was under me.
So let’s cut to the chase.I made a few calls and managed to guide my hysterical eldest daughter to find me hidden away within the woods.It wasn’t until 11:30 after 2 ambulances,2 fire engines that I was stretchered from the woods to Frimley park hospital.By this time drugged up to the max.
On Monday 27th my leg was plated and my chest cavity drained re inflating my lung.Finally discharged on Friday 31st.
Please don’t read this post thinking I’m looking for sympathy, because I ain’t.I was so bloody lucky to get out of this still breathing.I rode solo with only my mobile and good luck on my side.My family didn’t know my route.
The funniest part of this was I had an appointment to be discharged on that Friday of my crash after my hip op.And before you ask good news bike all in one piece.

RIDE SAFE FOLKS

R120

Subscriber
Apr 13, 2018
Surrey