Shimano E8000 power on issue?

Paddy

Nov 10, 2020
Chester
Hi I hope someone can help as i'm new to this Electric Mountain Biking.
Ive recently bought a Canyon Spectral:ON CF 7.0. it operates the Shimano E8000 motor with the battery housed in the frame. i got the bike shipped to me so put it together and had a quick go before putting the bike on charge (everything was working at this point!) by a quick go i was on the bike for 1 minute just up and down the road to ensure everything was tight i.e. brakes and gearing. i charged the bike for roughly 6 hours then went to go for a ride on it and the bike wouldn't power up. when i pressed the power button it illuminates for roughly a second then goes out. there is a screen on the handle bars which feeds information to you, this would start up as if it was powering on when the power button was pressed but turns off after about 5 seconds. i tried numerous things like making sure the cables were plugged in wherever i could see them and pressing and holding the power button but nothing would work. i left it on charge over night but again the same problem the next day. im sure the bike was charging as when i plug the bike in the power block on the charger would illuminate orange.
I hope someone can help!
Thanks

Dave_h34

May 20, 2019
Warwick
Keep looking at the battery. When the main display screen goes off, do you get a flash from the green lights on the battery? If so the combination of leds lit will give you a clue. Explanation in the user manual.

Paddy

Nov 10, 2020
Chester
Keep looking at the battery. When the main display screen goes off, do you get a flash from the green lights on the battery? If so the combination of leds lit will give you a clue. Explanation in the user manual.
Hi Dave I will have a look. I didn’t notice anything but I wasn’t looking for it. Thanks

steve_sordy

Wedding Crasher
Nov 5, 2018
Lincolnshire, UK