Sanity check: Merida e160 500 vs Trek Rail 5

pmcdonald

Oct 22, 2021
NSW, Australia
I have a deposit down on an e160 which should be here in a few weeks. However, before going all in on the purchase I'd like to run it by the far more experienced members here.

I'm very new to eMTBs and MTBing in general but commute on an ebike daily, at least when we were working face to face. I'm after a bike to grow with on the trails and build up the skills, something trouble free that didn't break the bank.

It was a very close run between the Merida and the Trek Rail 5. The pricing is similar all said and done, few hundred difference. Specs are near identical (same shocks, brakes, 12s vs 11s drivetrain). The Merida should arrive in November, Trek have advised January for new Rail stock in my size. Most if not all reviews note the capable, all-rounder geometry on both. The mullet setup on the Merida appeals for something I can learn to throw around the corners more but head to head comparisons seem to favour the Bosch equipped Trek as more of a steamroller down the trails.

I'm more genuinely on the fence with the motor ecosystems: love the ideal of the naturalness of the EP8, but will definitely miss the 'post-pedal push' of the Bosch (my Yamaha-equipped ebike has the push and I get it can be properly handy on technical climbs avoiding pedal strike). Am I right in reading Bosch seems to be edging ahead in the reliability and post-sales stock stakes? That's a consideration with the supply chain as gummed up as it is - these aren't cheap bikes by any measure, so I'll feel the downtime if anything did go wrong.

Stock being what it is I've had to drop a deposit to even get hold of a bike. A trail test ride is out of the question as well - the best the dealers can offer is a stately cruise around the carpark.