Reign E bottom bracket height

Good Times

Nov 8, 2019
Sydney Australia
Can anyone with a Reign E+ comment as to whether the bottom bracket is an issue? Or more importantly the motor underhang?

Just off a short test ride and that was the only thing making me hesitate. The motor was super quiet, XT drivetrain sensational (Pro 1), I’m close but don’t want to be hitting every large rock on climbs!

Good Times

Nov 8, 2019
Sydney Australia
I'm taking this silence as a "no comment" and think it's enough of a worry to go back to the Rail idea. Frustrating I can't get a test ride in the bush, just the car park :(

DrStupid

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Patreon
Jul 10, 2019
Pleasureville Ky
I'm taking this silence as a "no comment" and think it's enough of a worry to go back to the Rail idea. Frustrating I can't get a test ride in the bush, just the car park :(
Check out geometry geeks. It's a 15mm drop, so the same as the trance but comes with shorter cranks. I'm new to mountain biking but havent really had any trouble avoiding strikes. I ride a trance.

Screenshot_20191213-185703_Chrome.jpg

Good Times

Nov 8, 2019
Sydney Australia
Thanks man, yeah the more I look at it the more I figure it's not so much the BB drop or height, but the low-slung and forward motor unit. Combined with the expensive plastic bashguard. And not sure it's relevant, but a few years back I went from a Remedy to a Reign and noticed a lot more pedal strikes - ie the Reign does tend to be notorious for this. Hmmmmmmmm......

Dec 10, 2019
Australia
I've got a Trance and only times I've hit the motor is crossing large logs and that is more due to misstiming than anything else. Have had a few pedal strikes when climbing, but the Reign has shorter cranks so shoukd be better in this regard.

GrandPaBrogan

⚡ eGeezer ⚡
Oct 5, 2019
New Zealand