Real life logistics of riding using two batteries and one Emtb?

Gary

Old Tartan Bollocks
Author
Subscriber
Mar 29, 2018
the internet
Who here has two batteries for their Ebike and reguarly uses both for the one ride?
I ask as I have a second Emtb on the way so will have two 504wh batteries at my disposal.

Previously I've not really been interested in having an extra battery. The two main reasons for this are I absolutely never ride with a backpack and wouldn't ever want to. (I had wear to when I worked as a trail guide so know exactly why I never would in my own time).
this leaves the option of leaving the spare battery in the car and returning mid ride. I generally ride a long loop and wouldn't be anywhere near the car at any point. to me having to return to the car seems like having two separate rides.
Stashing the battery in the hills/woods doesn't seem a great soloution either as I'd have to carry it in a pack and also return to get it at the end of the ride.
I can see it working fine at a DH track/venue or bike park where you just do laps that happen to end in the car park and even at a trail centre where you can do a loop in the morning. stop for lunch and then do another ride in the afternoon etc. but am struggling to work out how it can work for me on longer loops.

So what do other folk actually do?
carry a heavy backpack the whole ride?
leave the battery in the car and plan rides that return to the car?
stash it enroute?
something else

And how does it work out for you?

Thanks in advance.

khorn

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Patreon
Jul 19, 2018
Denmark