Part # 1: Shimano Brake System Service

Rod B.

Aug 18, 2021
USA, Orange County Ca.
This will be a three part technical article discussing Shimano braking system components, how to service your Shimano brakes and brake system modification on your Rise.

Part # 1 will discuss basic maintenance on your Shimano brakes.

Part # 2 will discuss brake modifications to your Orbea Rise.

Part # 3 will discuss uneven brake rotor wear and checking your rotor for thickness.

I am not a professional mechanic but I do enjoy working on bikes. I’ve built up many bikes in my lifetime. I presently own a highly modified Rise M20. I began working on bikes because I dislike waiting in a queue to have my bike fixed at my local bike shop. Who wants to wait two weeks for a repair? I’ve made a lot of mistakes and over time, I’ve learned a lot. The knowledge I've gained has contributed to many successful backcountry field repairs which prevented long walks back to the trailhead. Knowledge is a good thing, long walks back to the truck, absolutely suck…..

I am hopeful there will be no mistakes in Part # 1 and Part # 2 of this technical article, I am confident there will be. Should I make a mistake, please let me know so that I may correct the article. Hopefully this article will constantly evolve with time and input from you. If you ever have any question about something on your Rise, shoot me a message and I'll help you figure things out.

Let’s begin:
Shimano’s website provides parts diagrams and compatibility charts of all the manufacturer’s components and system levels. The parts diagrams are very useful when it comes to buying or identifying the correct replacement part, i.e. brake pads, brake hose, rotors, caliper adapters, etc. You don’t want to automatically assume something will fit on your bike. It most likely won’t. This is especially so when it comes to eBike parts.

To access parts diagrams and the compatibility chart, go to Shimano’s American or European website: