Orbea Rise - Shimano SC-E7000 Display Installation

Rod B.

Aug 18, 2021
USA, Orange County Ca.
I recently installed a Shimano SC-E7000 display on my Rise. When researching the project, I found there wasn't much information available online on how to install a Shimano display on an Orbea Rise. I thought I would post my thoughts and experiences on the matter to help others who are also thinking of installing a display on their bikes. The installation process is relatively simple, however there are some things you need to know before you begin the installation. I am not a professional mechanic, so I apologize in advance if I get any terminology wrong.

If you are installing an SC-EM800 color display on an Orbea Rise, I have prepared a separate tech article. Click on the link to review installation details for the SC-EM800 display.

Shimano motors, components, displays, and cables are not all compatible with each other. You cannot buy just any Shimano computer display for the Rise. Some displays will work with the Rise's EP8 motor, and some won't. Shimano has an eBike component compatibility chart on it's website. You can check to see which computer display or any other electronic component is compatible with your Rise's EP8 motor before purchasing it. 2021-2022 SHIMANO Product Information Web

To simplify things, know that Shimano computer displays "SC-E7000" which has a black and white display and the "SC-EM800" which has a color display, will work with your Rise EP8 motor.

The SC-E7000 installation is a straight forward remove and replace procedure. If you wish to use the SC-EM800 color display, the installation will be a bit more involved and require you to purchase a new mode controller switch identified as the "SW-EM800." I will go into more detail below on each display and what is required to install each display.