North Pennines / Northumberland/ Cheviots

The Hodge

Mystic Meg
Subscriber
Sep 9, 2020
North West Northumberland
No ride as such ..but I've been riding these hills for 24 years..and I'm more than happy to show folks around ..
Weekends are out and work commitments mean that all of December is too ..but widweek ( Wednesday ) is my usual ride day .
Most of my mates are on non assisted mtb's ..so the pace is set by them .
Give me a shout if you are interested a couple of days before and I will let you know what we are doing ( if anything )
cheers
Neil

The Hodge

Mystic Meg
Subscriber
Sep 9, 2020
I'm out tomorrow in the Cheviot Hills starting at Shillmoor in the Upper Coquet Valley at 10.00am ..route as yet undecided but it will include the Border Ridge ( England / Scotland) ..meeting up with my non ebike mate .
Last chance for a trip out before the new covid restrictions ..and while I'm not expecting anyone else to join us ..if you happen by chance to be in one of the remotest parts of the U.K at the same time and want to tag along it would be nice to see you ..??

The Hodge

Mystic Meg
Subscriber
Sep 9, 2020
Brilliant day out today ..started with a ground frost and things were quite chilly riding up the valley in the shadow of the hills ...unfortunately once off -road the ground conditions didn't match the sunny weather and in a word it was a slog ..more so for my mate Nick who hasn't seen the light and is still riding his 15 year old hardtail so the ride was at his pace ( which is fine as I would rather ride along with him than storm on ahead).
A few comedy " offs " on the Border Ridge as there was so much standing water on the stone slabs it was hard to tell where the edges were and if you veered off you were quickly axle deep in the bog ..
The views though were tremendous .
20201104_121530.jpg

Nick arriving at Yearning Saddle refuge hut ..this is the English side ..over the fence in the background is Scotland
20201104_123027.jpg